Loading...
Loading...

Subject & Course Guides

Citation and Style Guides


The following guides provide help on how to cite a variety of resources.
If you need help creating your Bibliography/Works Cited, try RefWorks, a tool that manages your citations and can build your bibliography in any style you want (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)! 

Business Style Guides

Citation Guide for Business
 

Humanities & Social Sciences Citation & Style Guides

AAA style guide
Useful for: Anthropology

APA style guide 

Brief guide to APA citation style, based on the 5th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2001). The Library has multiple copies of the complete 6th edition print guide as well as an online version of the 2007 guide for electronic references.

6th edition links: What's New in the Sixth Edition of the Publication Manual? (APA); Learning APA Style (APA); The OWL at Purdue; Northern Michigan University’s APA Guide
 

ASA style guide
Useful for: Sociology

Chicago manual of style online
Provides guidance on citing sources, reference formats, grammar and usage, and manuscript production. Corresponds to the 15th edition of the print. The Library has multiple copies of the complete print guide.

Citing music sources in your essay and bibliography
Useful for: citing music sources.

MLA style guide
Brief guide based on the 6th edition of Joseph Gibaldi's MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (2003). If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the MLA Handbook (at Mills).

Turabian (Chicago) style guide
A brief guide based on the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations (2007). If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the manual (at Mills).

Science & Technology Citation & Style Guides

A Quick Guide to Citing Using the ACS Style Guide, 3rd ed.
Useful for: Chemistry, Science & Technology

ACS  Style Guide: Citing and Documenting sources in Chemistry
This site provides only sample references for books, journal articles, theses, patents, etc. For a full description, see the ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information (at Thode).

AIP style manual
Useful for: Physics, Science & Technology

C471 chemical information sources and services lecture notes
Useful for: Chemistry, Science & Technology

The CBE/CSE style of documentation in science and mathematics
Guide to citing references prepared by the Monroe Community College and based on the 6th edition of Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers, published by the Council of Biology Editors (now the Council of Science Editors) in 1994.

Using CSE style to cite and document sources
Guide to citing internet resources based on the 6th edition of Scientific style and format : the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers, published by the Council of Biology Editors (now the Council of Science Editors) in 1994.

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) style guide
Useful for: engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computer science and information technology. Detailed IEEE Standards Style Manual can be found on the IEEE style website.

General & Multidisciplinary Citation & Style Guides

Columbia.edu Editorial style guide
Generally follows Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition (CMS).

Guide to citing maps & atlases
Useful for: citing maps & atlases in any discipline.

Harvard Style
Has been adapted to suit many different publication styles covering print and electronic sources and includes how to cite U.K. and E.U. official documents. PDF guide Harvard Referencing Guide can also be found online.

How to cite government publications
Useful for: citing government publications in any discipline.

Course Guides

 

 Course Guides are tailored to specific courses at Mac. Included here are library class presentations, handouts, and other related links.

 

Bachelor of TechnologyLibrary Presentation: PDF